I have a burning desire to learn.

I can’t focus on anything else. All my time is spent either pursuing another talent or thinking of other talents I should pursue. I don’t know what spurred this sudden shift, because a few short months ago I had the worst case of senioritis you’d ever see. Maybe it’s the fact that my brain has sat around idly for a while now, or maybe it’s the prospect of college right around the corner. Maybe it’s the thrill of living in a community where everyone is there by choice, for the specific purpose of learning–after all, they’re paying…

Whatever it is, I can’t get enough. Every morning now, instead of mindlessly scrolling through Twitter for 30 mins, I do a crossword puzzle. It takes the same amount of time, but instead I roll out of bed feeling stimulated and awake, and I’m probably getting smarter too 🙂

When I think about the Russian class I signed up for spontaneously, I am beyond electrified. I can’t stop thinking about learning another language and even the possibility of going to Russia someday–and knowing the language. I mean, how awesome!

I want to read every book I can. I love a good poolside romance, but I also love westerns, mystery, horror, classics, and political novels. I want to write every day. I want to learn new words constantly. I want to have time to play music every single day. I want to learn how to embroider, since that would complete my skill set of knitting and crocheting. I want to stay up to date on political and current events so I can actively contribute to intelligent conversation and society. I want to fill every day with things I love because I know there’s no limit.

Now, it’s unrealistic to do EVERY thing, every day. But the desire is there, which means I will do some every day. And that’s enough, especially as my responsibilities grow each year.

I just want to know as much as I can and be as educated as I can. It goes along with living my life to the highest degree and making the most of every chance I have. This is the best time of my life to do this. I have an open road ahead of me, so why not be immersed in everything I possibly can? Who knows what passions I’ll discover that I never knew were hidden?

And maybe, I’ll turn one of these passions into something that I CAN do every day–and get paid to do it 🙂

