Today, I received an email from myself. 6 months ago, I used a website called FutureMe.org to write myself a good luck letter for college, and then I totally forgot about it. Reading through it just now made me really happy. I am confident that I’m making the right decision in my college journey. I know that I can achieve all of the hopes I had earlier this year, and I’m even better equipped now than I was 6 months ago. And I know I will come out the other side more mature, balanced, and knowledgable.

I’d like to share my letter to myself with you all. It gets a little cheesy, but it’s mostly good (hey, I wrote this at midnight!) and there are some bad grammar mistakes. But overall, it conveys a good message about life and being a genuine person. I don’t know how I had the foresight to do this for myself, but I’m glad I did.


Dear Becka,
You’re going to college this week. Congratulations! I am so happy for you! Where I am, it’s still 6 months away. I can’t wait to walk on the beaches of Wilmington and meet my new roommates and friends and start my new life, but for me that’s still in the future. For you, it’s your life. I’m so excited 🙂

There’s one thing that’s really important for you to remember. You have to hold on to the things that you love about yourself. I want you to grow up and learn new things and meet new people and change your views, yes, but keep the good parts of yourself. There’s lots of room for improvement, but you’re pretty awesome already. Never think you’re above anyone else, ever. Not based on looks, “intelligence”, salary, or personality. It’s all relative. Please always love reading and writing like I do now. Even if your English major doesn’t work out. Don’t slack off. It’s not what I would do. Don’t be like everyone else. People will love you just how you are right now no matter how well-liked everyone else is. You’ll find your people; just give it time. Look at me. I’m a second semester senior and I’m just feeling comfortable with my friends for real. I want you to keep your wonderful stupidness and curiosity and want for knowledge and desire to achieve and do great things. I have big dreams and I want you to carry them out for me. I will not be around to see you, but I want to live on through you. I don’t want to die out. 

You know how easy it is to change or pretend. Don’t ever do that. Please, please, listen to your heart. You know how many times it’s been right before. If it doesn’t feel right, it’s not. If you have doubts, it’s wrong. And please don’t drive yourself insane with worry. Relax. Everything will work out exactly how it’s supposed to. Everything happens for a reason. Every person, place and event has a specific purpose in your life and once that purpose is served, that thing may very well disappear and it may hurt. But if it was not at that time, it would be at a later time. Things have a funny way of working out exactly how they were supposed to. I want you to remember that you are on a path to happiness and every step you take, no matter how painful, is one more step in the right direction if you listen to your heart and do what you know is right.

Also, please only do things for yourself. You know what I mean. Wear things because you want to. Buy things that you like. Read and write what you want to. Don’t worry about what others want to see and hear, you’ll attract people like you who like what you like. If it’s good stuff, it doesn’t matter who else likes it. Be confident in your own ability to choose for yourself and be proud of who you are, uninfluenced by anyone else. Be able to stand alone but be comfortable with your friends. Be loved and love. Be happy. Be the person that everyone remembers as smiling and always trying to do her best and help out. That’s how I want to be remembered from high school and that’s what I want your first impression to be.

You are a wonderful person. You have huge dreams in life. You are romantic and silly and positive and idealistic, but that shouldn’t be a bad thing. Even though your vision of the world may let you down sometimes, keep it. I promise you won’t always be disappointed. And if you’re never disappointed, you can never be appreciative. Always see things both ways. There’s an opportunity for goodness in everything that happens to you. Make the most of your time and learn as much as you can. Be involved. Try new things. You won’t regret it, I promise! Remember tennis and soccer and don’t be afraid to look dumb and have fun doing it.

I hope you have a great time and I wish I could talk to you. But it’s better this way since you are the best version of me that has ever existed, and you will soon be replaced by a newer and better one. Keep growing and smiling and I hope you achieve everything you’ve been dreaming for. You have a wonderful life. Be proud of it.


Anyone else ever written a letter to themselves? Were you surprised when you read it? I encourage everyone to try this, even if the open date is just 6 months away. It can be a wonderful tool to clear your head and keep you grounded 🙂

 

